Destruction – Under Attack (Review)

DestructionThis is the 14th album from this prolific German thrash metal band.

For a band that have been around for over 30 years(!), describing Destruction as veterans of the thrash metal scene, or something like that, is an understatement. Considering both their longevity and considerable output since that time, I imagine there are few in the metal world who are unfamiliar with the band in some capacity or other. Well, unless all you listen to is Continue reading “Destruction – Under Attack (Review)”

Interview with Artillery

Artillery Logo

Danish thrash metal band Artillery need little introduction, being decades-long veterans of the thrash metal wars. Their latest album Penalty by Perception has really upped the ante in terms of quality thrash, and it’s an album I already love. Guitarist Michael Stützer was kind enough to take some time out from reloading to answer a few questions…

Give us a bit of background to Artillery

Artillery was formed in 1982 by Morten Stützer, Per Onink, Jørgen Sandau, Carsten Nielsen and Michael Stützer and did the first demo ”We are the dead” in Dec 1982. After recording 2 new demos ”Shellschock” and ”Deeds of Darkness” in 1984 with new singer Carsten Lohmann Artillery signed with Neat Records which released the 2 albums Fear Of Tomorrow(1985) and Terror Squad(1987) now with singer Flemming Rönsdorf. In 1989 Artillery signed with Roadrunner and put out By inheritance. In 1991 Artillery took a break before releasing BACK in 1999 on Die Hard Records! After another break Artillery reunited in 2007 with singer Søren Adamsen and released 3 albums ”One foot in the grave… (2008) ”When Death comes” 2009 and ”My blood” and a DVD One foot in the grave… (2008) all on Metalmind Productions. In 2012 Artillery signed with Metal Blade and released ”Legions” (2012) and ”Penalty by perception” (2016) both with the current line up Peter Thorslund (Bass), Josua Madsen (Drums), Michael Bastholm Dahl (Vocals), Morten Stützer (Guitar), Michael Stützer (Guitar). Continue reading “Interview with Artillery”

Artillery – Penalty by Perception (Review)

ArtilleryArtillery are a Thrash Metal band from Denmark. This is their eighth album.

These Metal veterans return with another 54 minutes of old-school Thrash Metal.

The vocalist’s melodic cleans are straight out of a different era, and in the context of 2016 sound flawless and delivered with a skill and passion lacking in most similar bands.

Savage riffs and sterling solos are moulded around classic song structures. The band obviously know exactly what they’re doing from the outset and this is a ridiculously strong collection of tracks. Catchy, memorable and charismatic, these songs are seriously good. They also awaken such a powerful sense of nostalgia in me that I honestly don’t know what to do with. I’ll just listen to more Thrash Metal I suppose.

Some of the riffs and melodies on this release get the hairs standing on end and the overall feeling is indescribable in some ways. Being exposed to this much authentic top-grade Thrash Metal in one go should come with a health warning.

Well, this really has made me sit up and take notice. I pretty much hate the vast majority of the retro-Thrash movement with its stupidity and moronic nonsense, so it’s great to hear a band that were forged in the original era when this kind of thing was first born produce something so strong and worthwhile. This should put all of the idiotic posers in their place and demonstrates what a force to be reckoned with Artillery still are.

Taken with the recent release by Exumer, could 2016 be the year that reignites my love affair with Thrash Metal? It’s shaping up to be that way so far.

This is what Thrash Metal is meant to be about.